What are the 8 stages of Erikson’s theory?

Summary of Erikson’s stages

StageConflictAgeDesired outcome
1Trust vs. mistrustBirth to 12–18 monthsA sense of trust and security
2Autonomy vs. shame & doubt18 months to 3 yearsFeelings of independence lead to belief in yourself and your abilities
3Initiative vs. guilt3 to 5 yearsSelf-confidence; the ability to take the initiative and make decisions 
4Industry vs. inferiority5 to 12 yearsFeelings of pride and accomplishment
5Identity vs. confusion12 to 18 yearsA strong sense of identity; a clear picture of your future
6Intimacy vs. isolation18 to 40 yearsSafe relationships filled with commitment and love
7Generativity vs. stagnation40 to 65 yearsThe desire to give to family and community, and to succeed at work 
8Integrity vs. despairOver 65 yearsPride in what you’ve achieved leads to feelings of satisfaction

Leave a Reply, All comments will be moderated - Many thanks for your contribution

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.